time slips away…

and leaves you with nothing mister

but boring stories of

glory days.

Glory Days by Bruce Springsteen

Life is pretty glorious around here these past days.  The day after my snow day, equilibrium was restored and the rest of this week has just slipped away in a haze of roasting sun, dog walking, art making, friend visiting, appointment keeping, charity shop visiting and writing, all enjoyable.

I am immensely grateful for it..

I have taken to scribbling a couple of pages of stream of consciousness writing each morning as suggested in my new favourite book Walking in this World by Julia Cameron.  It seems that I have been lent this book to read just when I needed it..

“If we stop watching the movies in our head with the scary sound track and start listening to things like Whistle While You Work or Zippity Doo-Dah. We may begin to make a little head way.  We need to get into reality”

I’ve been singing Zippity Doo-Dah all day.  Not in public of course, I’m not that mad – yet.

Anyway, enough of my head stuff

Our part of the world is deep into summer now and next week is Lammas, the first of the harvest festivals.  Everything in our garden is fruiting, flowering and seeding furiously and because we have had so little rain and the temperatures have been scorching I have had to water every night.

P1030778We were lucky that there were already dahlias planted in the garden before we moved in.  One of my favorite flowers – my Mum had a huge bed of them in the house I grew up in.

P1030772Plums, plums, plums, plums, plums, plums, plums.  Whoever lived here before must have loved them, we have four trees – jam anyone?

P1030807P1030803The lovely little echinacea plant I bought last autumn in time for it to die off.  It stayed in a pot all over winter and had a bit of a hard life but it has sprung a new.

P1030804Our wild vegetable garden, calvero nero, beetroot, tomatoes, courgette, aubergine.

I will leave you now as my dinner awaits.  It is my main stay of the summer months, onions, garlic, aubergine, courgette, basil all in a stew with a big dollop of sweet chilli sauce mixed in to liven things up a bit – so easy.

If you don’t hear from me for a few days it’s because Mr T is home tomorrow night and we are off to the beach for the weekend and then to visit my Ma.

I will take photos and remember guys..

Be Here Now 😉

2 thoughts on “time slips away…

Leave a comment