Truckstop on the way to a damn good time..

On my way to The Badger last night for a beer with friends before we all headed off to The Old Mill to see a band, I caught myself thinking how I would rather be staying in the pub, just nattering and putting the world to rights rather than shouting over what was possibly a disappointing wall of sound.

I say caught myself because one of the good ideas that I have been trying to drive into my brain is that just like not judging a book by its cover – not prejudging an evening when you haven’t researched the band and have not as yet developed any kind of precognition is unwise..

And to prove this conclusively I proceeded to have one of the best nights of my life – mainly because the band were just so, SO GOOD!  Be prepared people – there will be more over-excited yelling to come.

Truckstop Honeymoon are originally from Lawrence, Kansas and now happily resident in Wales, Katie and Mike West play a mixture of bluegrass, rockabilly and rock and roll and they play it very, very well. Songs written by themselves that are in turn, funny, poignant and all ports in between,  wryly intelligent and always so clever they make the whole performance seem easy.  It was hard to pick my favourite but up at the top would be Johnny and June, Your Mother is a Sociopath as well as Walk of Shame which bought back a few memories.  It was the first time ever that I didn’t want to leave my seat, even for an urgent call of nature (damn you excellent real ale) for fear of missing something.

I ENJOYED EVERY SINGLE SONG..

I admit that in the past I have suffered from beer ears, similar to beer goggles – summed up by the phrase “there are no ugly men at closing time”, beer ears is the phenomenon where drink has been taken and you find yourself publically grooving to music you wouldn’t normally allow to grace your home stereo system, not only that – you are so in love with this music that you find yourself splashing the cash and buying a cd which after one confused play the following day, finds itself lurking in the back cupboard for the rest of it’s natural.  Not that there’s anything wrong with the music or band per se but it’s just REALLY NOT YOUR CUP OF THRASH METAL

Anyway.. Money in hot hand I made my purchase and this morning slipped that sweet, sweet c.d. into the slot of my laptop – and GLORY BE TO THE GODDESS, IT WAS GOOD. It was the real deal and once again I LOVED EVERY SINGLE SONG..  Bless you guys, and welcome to Wales, it’s fantastic to have you here.

fullsizeoutput_13f
Hope we will see you again real soon

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment