full speed for home..

We have been having weather.  I really mean WEATHER..

It came in last night and we watched the rain radar on the Met Service website with fascination as two huge, multicoloured splodges of rain joined together and dumped on us.  In addition they bought along their friend the wind and we had gales that kept waking me up during the night, bashing against the bedroom windows.

Today I was meant to be getting together with two friends for a potluck lunch and lots of lovely chat but that was cancelled due to travel concerns, the wind was honestly so bad that I wouldn’t have liked driving in it either.  Toastie and Charlie talked me into going for a walk but we got quarter of the way around the park and both decided they had had enough and turned for home and I was happy to oblige, walking into the wind was difficult to say the least and my overactive imagination kept conjuring flying sheets of corrugated iron and crashing tree branches.  In addition I could see threatening rain cloud being blown across the mountains and we had only minutes before it reached us.  Don’t ask me why I wasn’t wearing a coat..really,

It was good to get back in the warm, dry and quiet.

P1040722

So the rest of the day was lovely.  I had gone mad yesterday and cleaned all the house, so apart from going outside and picking up the sodden washing of the ground, I did not feel the need to tidy anything, yay!  Instead I made date scones with the never fail Lemonade Scone recipe except I used ginger beer instead and had them for lunch.  I kept the fire going and read my book, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead (on my top ten best books of all time list) for the second time, and I dozed and worked on designing a new stitching project and just generally had a cozy day.

P1040723

 

So that’s me for now – where ever you are I hope you are happy and safe and out of the weather..

2 thoughts on “full speed for home..

  1. emanation33

    Toastie looks SOOOOO cuteon the rug in front of the fire ❤ Can't wait for you to come home just in time for more welsh rain 😉 Love ya xxx

    1. watchingthewheels

      Yes, she is very cute, and watching her ears go all wing nut when the noise from the wind bothers her. And yes, just in time for welsh rain, can’t wait 🙂 Love ya right back..

Leave a Reply

