reading, knitting, blogging and snowing..

Ok, so..

Sorry to anyone who tried to access my blog in the last couple of days and found it password protected.  I did have a little wobble and thought I might like to do away with this blog, but I have centered myself now and the normal programme of not posting much has been resumed.

All is well here at present, we are snowless once again, although there is always the possibility – winter is clenching and hanging on.

I am learning to knit an actual garment (as opposed to scarves), with shaping and everything and it is a &%&@%£$@£$$££^%$&^*&^*&*&$$££@£@£@£ bitch..  I screwed it up so badly last week that I have been unable to do anything with it, until last night’s Stitch and Bitch when my lovely friend Thursday sorted it out for me – I love Thursday.

I am overloaded with reading material having found several wonderful  authors recently  Hilary Mantel, Katherine Swift (many thanks to BoxofMisc you are a treasure) and Billy Letts, as well as a  new interest in Mass Observation diaries and the diary of our local hero/weirdo Victorian curate Francis Kilvert, whose writings I find alternately, beautiful, lyrical, horrifying, tragic and amusing and sometimes several of those at once.  Reading Kilvert also reminds me just how very, very lucky I am to be living here in this time.

In addition to books, I am reading other people’s blogs and have resolved to make a effort to leave a comment every time I do – even if it’s just  a smiley or a frowney or whatever – just to let them know that I have been there, heard them and tip my hat.  A sort of a small payment, if you will, for their efforts.

I would really appreciate it if you would do the same for me, I’d love to know that you have been by.

Some photos of our lovely snow days..

The lane in front of our house
The lane in front of our house

P1020552

Snowing
Snowing
Not too cold to chew a stick
Not too cold to chew a stick
See my snow dags?
See my snow dags?

P1020563

My new crocheted jumper
My new crocheted jumper
St Mary's, Cusop
St Mary’s, Cusop, hidden under all this freezing load are the first Snow Drops
The snow makes the graves more cheerful
The snow makes the graves more cheerful
8 thoughts on “reading, knitting, blogging and snowing..

  1. Those photos of Toastie are just edible!! I love a scruffy dog, me. I understand totally about the knitting thing. Two pointy sticks are SO MUCH HARDER than one hook. I was supposed to be starting a circular shawl but can’t even cast on as it means tangling (literally) with DPNs. It has to wait until I’m patient enough to start climbing the learning curve! Anyhoo, glad to see y’all are doing well!!

    1. watchingthewheels

      Good to hear from you Lyn! No it’s pretty cold and miserable at the moment, forecast for snow on Monday. I could really do with a bit of NZ weather at the moment 😉

  2. katyboo1

    Hello!
    Thanks for your comments on my blog. Will email you my pot list if your nerves can stand it! I’m sorry to hear you are going back to NZ. I hope though that it is for the best of reasons. xxx

Leave a Reply

