with a small blue gnome on the side..

So many lovely comments on my previous post – thank you all so much, I really appreciated them.

**********************

We are having  a week off together.  In other words, Mr T has a week off from doing stupid hours at work and I am having a week off from my usual week.  Which is nice.  We have bugger all money so are taking our pleasure locally – doing a few walks and going for a few drives.

The point to having this particular week together is that I have a new job which I am starting next week.  Thankfully it is not a huge  job, just ten hours a week over two days as admin assistant for Hay Community Support.  I say thankfully because over the last month I have been afflicted by huge amounts of fatigue which muddles my brain and makes thinking difficult to say the least.   I am of the opinion, putting two and two together, that what I am now suffering from is the beginnings of the (I’ll say this very quietly, so as not to offend the sensitive) …MENOPAUSE!!!!  HA, HA!

So – now that the depression seems to have quietly sloped off for a bit,  my body has decided to go all hormonial on me – fun.

Stuff I have done lately –

  • Made biscuits – Melting Moments, worked out a treat and made me realise that I havent made a biscuit in the last twenty years.  Must make more 🙂
  • Held a bloody good house warming party  (even if I say so myself).  Lots of food and drink and really good company.  Just thank the Lady that all the people I invited didn’t come, as I have a horrible habit of asking anybody I like that I come across over a period of about a month, without making a note and then when someone asks how many people I have invited and I start to count I realise that if they all come our house will explode.
  • Eaten far to many chips with garlic aioli and drunk far too much hot chocolate at the new restaurant in Booth’s Books.  If you are ever in town you must visit and eat food there – real, proper interesting food at decent prices, and the hot chocolate is the REAL DEAL – like drinking liquid chocolate mousse.
  • Watched the incredibly beautiful British countryside merge into proper spring – love it.  Also watching the streets of Hay start to swell with visitors.  Kilvert’s front garden bar is beginning to hum with company again, instead of just me and Simon and Jenny wrapped like mummies huddling under the heaters with our fags and booze, flicking icicles off our eyelashes.
  • Crocheted thirty four flowers for a shawl which I am starting to sew together now – Ta-Dah! photos to come.
  • Signed up to Lovefilm so that I can watch my current American sit-com love The Big Bang Theory and continue catching up with The Wire

I have also read many and varied books – a package from my lovely friend Robin in North Carolina arrived in the post the other day.  It contained the following: Simple Times- Crafts for Poor People by Amy Sedaris  and Firmin by Sam Savage.  I have had a chance now to flick through the latter and can confirm that it is quite, quite mad – utterly bonkers and truly wonderful in a very strange way.  Totally unPC by the way  – you really do have to bring a robust sense of humour with you.

Crafty Candle Salad from Simple Times

 

I have also been totally enthralled by the discovery of the Falco books – a detective series by Lyndsey Davis set in Roman times.  The first book is called The Silver Pigs (the name for silver ingots) and I loved it – enough to do a little research into the period so that I could understand it a bit more and many thanks to my friend Leslie for introducing me.  She has very kindly just lent me another three book omnibus to get stuck into, absolute heaven 🙂

Gratuitous photos of spring like things coming up –

 

 

From our walk on the Gospel Pass

 

The end of the Dingle road (with a small blue gnome on the side)
2 thoughts on “with a small blue gnome on the side..

Leave a Reply

