Looking back – 2010 Bumper Post

The trouble is the longer you leave it the more the words in your head build up until it all becomes overwhelming and it’s a lot easier not to bother – a lot.

So biting the bullet and getting it started again is a good thing.

First off – I hope everybody had a great holiday period.  We had a interesting time of it, with both of us having a really nasty flu which took ages to disappear.  Lots of people we know have had it too – in fact our neighbours have both suffered badly and have had to cancel their two month long holiday in India because they were so sick.

Yule afternoon I spent with my good friend Emanation and her family.  Emanation and I swapped pressies and I received my first proper crochet how-to book from her, as well as a really cool crocheted flower motif wall hanging.  We ate lovely food and drank lovely drink and she dosed me with some head blowing herbal concoction to try to alleviate my flu.  It didn’t work totally but was an experience for sure.  It was amazing to have found someone here who celebrates the solstice and to know that she and her husband Smithy are bringing up their son to celebrate it as well.

Thinking back on it, I should never have gone around to Emanation’s that day as I really was feeling rough and risked them catching it as well.  But fortunately they are made from hardier stock and remained well.

Emanation and me - Yule 2010

 

Smithy and I and Puss

Thanks to said flu I really did not mind that Mr T worked late Christmas eve and I was home alone.  Just felt like curling up on sofa and blobbing in the warm.  We were both well enough to make it to the Baskerville Arms on Christmas Day to have our (already paid for) feast.    Although not well enough to walk all the way there and back as was the plan.

I got some lovely presents on the day – I have the best friends.  One of them, Louise,  had surprised me with a gift bag of goodies from her shop which contained six or seven little wrapped presents that I had great fun opening – lip balm,  candle holders, colourful machine embroidery threads, cool stuff like that.

Me and Presents - Terrys Chocolate Orange, fingerless gloves, crochet book and one of my most fave pressies - A HEAD TORCH!!
Later in the day after Christmas lunch - full up with good cheer and the flu
Mr T - Christmas day

New Years Eve found us in Swansea celebrating at our favorite Queens Hotel with our besties Jules and Kath.  I love being back in Swansea for a visit – it is sooo different from being in Hay.  Having lived there for about four years on and off I am fully aware of some of the down sides of the place but.. I have a huge soft spot for the city where Mr T was born, I love people watching and listening to the accents.  And of course walking the spectacular beach, which we did horribly hungover on New Years day.

It was very, very good being with Jules and Kath, just great people and great fun.  A huge blessing..  And Jules makes a mighty fine New Years day fry up.

The Gang - New Years Eve 2010

 

I made no New Years resolutions, I just the hope that I will be able to handle this year better than last.

2010 was a doozey in some ways – some of the negatives

  • Most probably making the decision to return to the UK bought about a return of the Black Slug Depression, perhaps not the brightest idea for a person who apparently does not deal well with stress.
  • Leaving my Mum and all my friends.
  • The collapse of our plans to rehome our lovely Polly, two weeks before we were due to leave the country.  Then having to leave her in a safe but unfortunately temporary home.
  • The stress of moving to another country, finding a place to live, jobs, furnishing said house, finding an affordable car, feeling alien and not wanting to open my antipodean gob while out shopping to stop the millionth person from asking  where I come from (because then I would have to kill them)
  • Relationship problems in the first couple of months of being in this country – really needed that.
  • Failure to cope with pub job, getting another really quite enjoyable job that I could cope with and then having it taken away.
  • All of this whilst the depression ran rampant and did it’s best to sabotage any good at all

BUT  I have survived and our marriage has survived and at this particular point I am extremely thankful for all the amazing, wonderful, simply fucking beautiful things that have happened as well.  All of those negative things have turned out ok.  We have coped with all the problems that moving to a different country brings and some of the stuff we needed to set up life here just dropped into our lives as if by magic.  I have to say that a lot of our good fortune has had to do with people – good hearted, friendly, helpful people – some of whom were pretty much strangers but they made starting  our lives here so much easier than it could have been.

Next post – the positives

5 thoughts on “Looking back – 2010 Bumper Post

  1. I thought you’d been a bit quiet! I too had the monster flu, it lasted a good 3 weeks and was a bitch.

    I didn’t know Mr T was a Welsh Boy (although I suppose the name is a bit of a giveaway). Mine is also a Welsh Boy, from Maesteg which is only about 20 mins from Swansea. We have good friends who live in Briton Ferry.

    Glad to hear you made it through a ‘proper’ winter!

    1. watchthatcheese

      Yes – I had gathered you were married to a Welsh Boy too, from your blog, and your name of course, Mrs Jones. I feel pretty damned happy about the Welsh thing cos I really like living here.
      And oh yes – a PROPER WINTER it was – crikey. May not be over yet either.

      Glad to hear you are over your flu – I think it lasted about three weeks with me as well – longer for T

  2. Kathy

    Hello sweetie,

    Fab post and I do love the photo from the pub…such fun!

    Oh I must agree that my hubby does make a damn fine fry up indeed. hope to speak soon.

    Lots of love
    Kxxxx

  3. How lovely to have a good up catch up!

    You know what, you’ve done amazingly well over the past few months considering the ‘negatives’. Moving to another country (as we both know) is never easy and I think that perhaps you’d prepared yourself for that to a certain extent even though you were also excitied about the romance of making a home in such a beautiful town.?

    I totally agree that people play a massive part in your settling in a new place. It’s hard work making new friends but you’ve done amazingly well.

    So glad that I can follow your journey on the blog. Do keep writing.
    Love Al x

  4. katyboo1

    Yay! I am very glad you survived. I think your flu has travelled to us. I have the serious lurgy. I am just glad I could take it from you. Love Kx.

Leave a Reply

