Tardy With The Pumpkins

I learned a lesson last weekend – never leave your Samhain (Halloween) pumpkin buying till the last day.   Two weeks ago the foyer of our local Co-Op was jam-packed with massive orange pumpkins.  On the day itself there were only a few sad, manky ones left.  The first Samhain I have been without orange hands for many years, and I didn’t even have a swede to make do with 😦    😉

So my friends from our local  Stitch and Bitch let themselves loose on the defenseless town of Hay-on-Wye last Thursday.  In celebration of Samhain they yarn graffitied all over the place.  You can check out photos of their exploits at my friend Emanation’s blog Yarn Craft Revival.  Take a particular look at the fourth photo on that post – I spotted the same devil hat in the pub on Saturday night.  The wearer was very happy to claim it for his own when he spotted it on its pole.

Nick and his new fiendish hat

I myself was not with the guerrilla yarn grrrls that night, as I was still suffering from the longest bought of flu I have ever had.  Have only just got rid of the cough now – it feels really good to feel fit and well again.

I have still not managed to get to Ikea, both times I was meant to go my friend backed out, so finally my darling Mr T has said he will come with me this Sunday.  I can’t wait to finally have some shelves to unpack our books and my craft gear.   Also we will get a table so that when my friend Julie arrives the week after next, we will be able to sit and eat dinner around it.  Cool bananas.   Also of course on Sunday, Tude and I will be able to scoff Ikea meatballs 😉

Daylight saving finished in this country on Sunday and the clocks went back an hour – man does it get dark early now! At work on Tuesday afternoon I watched in amazement as  the lights in the shops across the road grew bright in the dimness – it was three pm.  Because of that I am getting a tad obsessed with bringing more light into our little house.  I’ve got my bright, plastic flower fairy lights going and will look for more fairy lights at Ikea.  I’ve got candles galore, just not many candle holders yet, or the shelves to put them on but it’s happening.  It will be a huge pleasure making a bright, warm haven against the dark and cold.  Remember I have just had two summers in a row – winter is going to be fun.  I have my fur lined boots out and have found a full length, wool, mans overcoat in the charity shop which needed to come home with me.   Bring it on..

Making it bright

In my spare time I have been attempting some hand embroidery.  Ever since I discovered subversive stitching it’s been just another one of those things I wanted to do but never got around to.  Well – no time like the present, and I can do it while watching a program or listening to the radio, I have massive amounts of tray cloths, doilies etc so I figured that they would be a perfect  canvas for a few choice words..

be here now - a reminder that I need constantly