Remember You’re a Womble..

I have a sore spot on the roof of my mouth, it has been there for a few days now and has discouraged me from eating my usual marmalade on rye sourdough toast for breakfast – too sharp.  Instead I got to eat my first porridge of the year.  Porridge with full fat organic honey, Greek yogurt, banana, and a large spoon of dark muscovado sugar.  Mmmm, soft, warm, rich and sweet, feel sorry for me?

The sourdough has been a recent addition to the household.  My neighbour Rosie kindly introduced me to her baker – a woman who lives on the next street over and makes bread to order for collection every Monday.

I have started, rather cautiously, making things again.  My recent attempt at chemical relief resulted in a complete non-interest in any sort of creative endeavor at all.  I did keep trying for a while, with rather disastrous results.  I had to pull apart my knitting several times, then I just chucked it into a corner.  And the bag I was making!  I had to unpick THREE TIMES, and when I did it wrong again, I chucked it into a corner as well.

A couple of evenings ago I picked up the knitting again, figuring the drugs must have worn off enough by then, and sure enough, no problem.  The same with my bag.  I got it out yesterday afternoon and a couple of hours later it was finished – not perfectly mind, looks a little ropy – as you would if you had been pulled apart and put together that many times.  But I was determined..

Made from vintage curtain material and lined with grey blanket

There are a couple of things I learnt from making this bag

  • Next time I will alter the pattern and make the bag deeper, so I can lose things easier and..
  • When you are making something for the first time do NOT use your most favorite vintage material which is probably IRREPLACEABLE.  So that if you DO cock it up and can’t fix it, it won’t be such a big shame.  Duh!
  • Remember you’re a womble, and lighten up 😉

______________________________________________________________________****______________________

A few more photos of the wedding..

Kath looked wonderful and THE DRESS!  Just lovely and made of silk..  I will never forget the moment during the wedding breakfast when, in the middle of a conversation, she hit her hand on her knife handle and flicked tomato pasta sauce onto the bodice – her recovery was masterful!   She is my good friend and absolute honey – I am so glad Julian had the sense to marry her..

Signing the register

6 thoughts on “Remember You’re a Womble..

  1. patricia

    Hi Ros , I just read your blog and im sorry you have had trouble with your mouth. It sounds like you are alot better now though. I looove the bag and as usual you have good taste in outting things together ! :-). The farm here is growing again today as Im off for some more bobbies this morning. so chooks, lambs and cows and calves by tonight lol! Anyway, know its your brithday today so have a great one and we are all thinking of you here in NZ xx

  2. Good lord Mrs – you are on a roll with your blog posts! Hoorah!
    Cute bag and what a great idea lining it with blanket.
    The Wombles – now did you know that the first gig I ever went to was to see The Wombles! I danced with Orinoco in the aisle. It was a very special moment! Great Yarmouth 1976.

Leave a Reply

