What’s happening..

I have sold my ipod (which I never used) and have just bought a Janome 3822 sewing machine,- after much agonizing and web searching I might add.  Of course the problem with over-thinking is that you finally get sick of the whole business and just plump for the next one you come across, which may not be wise.  Soooo, hopefully I have chosen a good un, and it does have a 5 year guarantee.   Owls will once more be flying from my needle.  And I have a bag pattern to make up as well – it is very exciting.

I have totally been enjoying my new job.  It is so much fun watching people try things on and buy stuff they love.  They are usually in a good mood and love our shops – just as I do.  I have also applied for a part time job at the local Co-op supermarket and if I get it I will become a checkout chick as well as a boutique babe!  With the money I will be able to support my habits of book buying, yarn purchasing and real ale drinking (not all at once), so I can spend our darkening evenings doing the things I love.

Our possessions have arrived and I am very thankful that we managed to shed so much before we left – I just do not know where we would have put it all.  As it is my studio is rather packed and until we pay a little visit to Ikea, will have to stay like that.  Some new shelves, bookcases and chests of drawer will help us sort out the mess a bit.

I am still loving our little town.  I meet more and more people all the time and because I have a very poor memory I find myself searching madly in the depths for someones name quite often.  Will have to try harder.  Usually I remember by relating their name to someone or something else that I already know – it is just that I forget to do it.

In my book pile at the moment is  A.M.Homes’s This Book Will Save Your Life, which is one of the finest titles I’ve come across and such a good read that I am finding hard not to pick it up and start to read instead of writing this and Sally Vickers’s Dancing Backwards, which I am enjoying – but not quite as much as her Miss Garnet’s Angel.  I am also dipping into and enjoying Rachel McAlpine’s Scarlet Heels 26 Stories About Sex.  Rachel is the mother of one of my best friends and a damned good writer.  She is also from New Zealand and her stories are permeated by a sense of that place.

Yew berry, just about all of the Yew tree is poisonous including the seed inside the berry, but the berry itself is apparently yummy. I couldn't get Tude to try one though!
One of the photos of Kilpeck church which we visited a few weeks ago. A must see if you visit our neck of the woods, it has the most entertaining carvings around the doorway and all around the roof line
Sheela-na-gig at Kilpeck church
I like this one - a bit Disney cartoon like
Green man at Kilpeck
Door post
10 thoughts on “What’s happening..

  1. Kath

    I am rubbish at trying to decide what I should buy and usually take ages deliberating, just bout new MP3 player and so far absolutly love it, hope sewing machine the same.
    So glad you are enjoying the job…makes life better when you can enjoyt what you do.

    Off now as getting parents together for a pre-wedding meeting!!

    Kxxx

    1. Ros

      Yes it is – I love it. But now I am getting lots of work at the clothes shop and will have less time to make stuff. Will still fit it in though.

  2. Hoorah for new sewing machines! They’ll be no stopping you now.
    I’ve added you book recommendations to my ‘books to read’ list. I’ve just finished The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracey Chevalier and have just started Anthony Sher’s autobiography ‘Beside Myself’. An incredible actor AND writer. I picked it up in the secondhand book shop in Kuripuni for $6. It’s a great little shop with recent bestsellers for just $10. Did you ever go there?
    Happy days to you – Al x

    1. watchthatcheese

      No I didn’t – hardly went to Kuripuni at all actually – only to Pack and Save.
      Lovely to hear from you – happy days to you to.
      Oh – and you would love the clothes in my shop!

Leave a Reply

