Cusop Dingle..

Cusop Dingle is where we spent yesterday afternoon.  It was our second visit, I wasn’t really able to appreciate it fully last time as I had worked the previous night at the pub and was shattered.  This time was so much better!

If I could, I would live in the Dingle.  It has that fairy tale, deep green, deep history feeling that lulls you and makes you feel like the rest of the world can go hang.  Or that if you should doze of on the lush grass by the brook, you might well wake up in another time.  I was amused to read that it was the last recorded place where fairies have been seen.

I discovered a frog which I captured to show Tudor and let go in the brook, and we returned home with enough blackberries for a apple and berry crumble and enough wild flowers to fill my biggest vase – a blissful day really.  Even taking into account the attack of a nettle while I was reaching for flowers 😉  And by the way – the dock leaf did not work.

Nothing is ever as good as it seems, or as bad as it seems, but I really can’t see how yesterday could have been better – I am thankful for it..

The following is nicked from Wikipedia – just for interest.  Oh and if I had known about the oldest resident I would have paid a call on it.

Cusop is an English Victorian village that lies next to the world-famous book town of Hay-on-Wye. It is reached by driving out of Hay towards Bredwardine, and turning right into Cusop Dingle, locally known as ‘Millionaire’s Row’, because of the large, Victorian houses which line the route up to Offa’s Dyke Path, one of the popular walking tracks in the West of England.

Once documented as the last place in England in which fairies were seen, the Dingle is a single track road running alongside the Dulas Brook (forming the border between Wales and England) into the foothills of the Black Mountains. With a multitude of waterfalls, the Dulas Brook is home to trout, otter and kingfishers.

Cusop was home to the poisoner Herbert Rowse Armstrong, the only English solicitor ever hanged for murder, and the grave of his wife Katharine is in the parish churchyard. His former home, originally Mayfield but now The Mantles, is currently owned by Martin Beales, a solicitor working in Armstrong’s old office in Hay. Beales believes that Armstrong was innocent and has published a book arguing his case.[1]

The writer L.T.C. Rolt lived here between 1914 and 1922, in a house then known as Radnor View, in a development locally called “the Forty Acres”. Spending his early boyhood here, he went on to co-found the Inland Waterways Association and the Talyllyn Railway Preservation Society, and to write many books on transport, engineering biography and industrial archaeology.

Cusop’s oldest resident is the Cusop Snail, dating back to the Stone-age.

Recorded in The Doomsday Book as “Cheweshope” from the Roman name of “Kyneshope” meaning Hollow Hill.

The Manor of Cusop formed part of the Ewyas Lacey One Hundreds and was once owned by the Clanowe Family, Edward III, Henry ap Griffith, Vaughans of Moccas and the Cornewall Family.

My neighbour gave me these bits, found when she was doing her garden. I am hoping to make a mosaic to go on our blank garden wall - See next photo..
A mosaic should look good on here.
7 thoughts on “Cusop Dingle..

  1. Oh horray! A lovely, beautifully written, wonderfully illustrated post. It went so well with my cup of PG Tips. The photo of the blackberries in particular is scrumptious.
    Happy days. x
    Have just read the name Cusop Dingle outloud and sniggered to myself!

      1. Rod

        Hi there,
        My name is Rod and I am now 68 years of age. I was born and brought up in Hay and went to live in Cusop when I was ten. Then left in 1968/9 my parents moved to Talgarth in 1971/2. Cusop does have a wonderful positive effect on people and I loved it, roaming the hill all on my own, catching rabbits or with friends. Being brought up as an only child although I do have one sister a lot older than me I was used to making my own amusements. Your own account I read with relish. I only live up in Talgarth so not far away really. Your comment on fairies I had read in Richard Booth’s book. I had over the years I lived in Cusop had some strange encounters with at least 3 possible ghosts but I do have an open mind on what really did happen. However I still think they were ghosts or spirits of some kind. Fairies however I never saw one face to face but way out on my own in the more distant areas of the Cusop Dingle I did have a strange ‘encounter’ which spooked me, enough to make me take my leave and return to the Cusop metaled road rather than the lime kiln path in the woodland. Although it goes against all logic and scientific reasoning I always feel a presence in woodland which I call the spirit of the woods. The old ones were perhaps very sensitive to it, paranormal or whatever you may term it. Fairies I can’t say but there sometimes feels that you are never completely alone and any disrespect for an area can sometimes set off odd occurrences which may or may not be related to forces unseen. That day I had been checking rocks for fossils, one of my interests. Trouble is these things are rarely testable, one offs you might say. So the event is just a personal experience. A friend of mine even claimed and still claims even today decades on he had a close UFO encounter with his girlfriend on the hill road to Michaelchurch Escley on the far end of Cusop Hill.

      2. watchingthewheels

        Hi there Rod
        Somehow your comment slipped under my radar so I apologise for not replying at the time. I really do know what you mean about the presence in woodland and I certainly felt it walking around there though I never saw any fairies unfortunately! We are moving back from New Zealand and will be staying in Llandefalle not far from Talgarth so maybe we will catch up some time and have a cuppa if you like 🙂

Leave a Reply

