In a Short Space of Time..

Well – that is the longest blogging break I have had for a while.

I have been trying to sort my life out a bit, or it’s been trying to sort me out.  I finished my pub job last weekend –  the mind was willing but the flesh was weak and I was totally exhausted.  I don’t seem to be able to recover very quickly anymore but am starting to feel a bit better now.  I have decided to make a proper effort to make and sell my hand crafted items full-time, using the web, local markets and through shops.  It will be hard work but I figure that if I work half as hard as I did in the pub I should be able to make it work.  I am looking forward to it.

Actually – in the period since I last blogged, much has happened.  We now have a land line and broadband connection thanks to BT.  You have no idea how good this is, I had loved going to The Globe to use their broadband but it did pale after a while, and trying to contact businesses to get the organization of services set up was rather expensive on a mobile.

We have managed a couple of day trips away – to Abergavenny and up to Knighton to visit a rather cool yarn shop First 4 Yarns. Beautiful countryside on both drives and lots of ancient buildings and lovely people.  The First 4 Yarns proprietor introduced me to a New Zealand woman who ran the shop across the way and had been in the town for 19 years.

A view of Hay on the way back from Knighton

On the way back from Knighton we stopped for a walk around Presteigne.  Tude managed to enrage an elderly lady volunteer in a charity shop by commenting, during the course of a conversation, that he thought she had a bit of a Shropshire accent. Well! – that went down like a lead balloon.   Presteigne for the uninformed (and possibly uninterested) is located just inside the Welsh border and one thing it is important to know about dealing with anyone who lives in Wales is that you need to be careful about who you liken to the English.  I sort of understand this having lived with the whole Aussie/Kiwi mutual hate/love affair.

Then while walking past an antique shop we noticed a pile of boxes and bits and pieces by the side entrance with a large notice that said all items were for sale for 50p each and it could be paid through the post slot on the door!  I went mad grabbing bits and pieces of china, a tea-pot, jugs and bowls.  All old stuff with chips and cracks but I just think that adds character  (plus I am too poor to buy them intact ;-))  What fun!!  We arrived home with bags full, including all the yarn I had bought.

New tea pot
This is like a little soup tureen
I love blue and white china

Our friend Yvonne has been visiting from NZ. She stayed three nights and seemed to like our little town so maybe we can lure her back some time.  We took her to Abergavenny for the afternoon and there were masses of antique stalls set up in the huge Market Hall.  We had a brilliant time looking at all of that and then trawling the charity shops.

Yvonne the Terrible

Yesterday we went for a wander on one of the many country walks that surround our town – here are a few snaps.  We are feeling pretty happy with ourselves as we have found useful foraging plants come autumn – black thorn trees for sloe gin, hazel nuts and blackberries.

The 'camera on a fence post' shot
In the field..
In the distance..
Seen on the walk home - my dream cottage
4 thoughts on “In a Short Space of Time..

  1. Nice to see you back on the ether. Love the pics, you live in our favourite part of the world. My husband would move to Abergavenny in a heartbeat, but it would be rather impractical for all our travelling.

    1. watchthatcheese

      It is pretty lovely here – especially today when the sun is shining! We are very lucky to have found such a lovely spot to live in 🙂

  2. Just made Greg jump as I shouted out ‘there are two new blog posts!’.

    Thank you so much for the gorgeous photos. Hay and the surrounding area looks so very English.

    Very excited about the prospect of you making a living from your crafts. Interested to know how much it is to have a stall in the Thursday market.

    Have I told you about the podcast called Cast On with Brenda Dayne? It’s a favourite of mine and the host is a knitter who moved from the USA to Wales. It’s lovely to listen to it whilst you’re crafting. Think that you might like it.

    All is well here but looking at your photos I wish that I had a special power that would enable me to be in two places at once!

    Al x

Leave a Reply

