Random Bits of Me..

Today in Kiwi Land is ANZAC day, and I was going to do a post about it but have temporarily mislaid the photos I was going to use so will do it when they are found.

Instead, as I am still going through papers, photos, and other  assorted detritus of my life, I thought I would show you a bit more of me.  Not organised in any way whatsoever however..

First up is a page I printed out from a website on the day I discovered that Douglas Adams, one of my most favourite authors, had died.  This was the first comment I read on the board  at Douglasadams.com and it was just so appropriate – I cried.  So Rob Hamilton, if you are out there, thank you for encapsulating my mood at the time, saying exactly what I wanted to say and saying it in such a Douglas Adams way.

Subject: I’ll just lie down in front of this bulldozer for a while… ( 1 of 1 )
Posted by Rob Hamilton

One of the great embarrassing difficulties I have in my life is a complete and absolute inability to walk past a bookstore as if it wasn’t lurking there, ready to fiercely spring upon me and force books into my backpack while sucking out the marrow of my financial stability with great slurping sounds and an occasional burp. My eagerest joy has always been to poke around in the “A” authors, hoping to find either a new Douglas Adams title or one I was too blind to find when it first came out. I suppose I can relax about that now.

For the record: I’m practically 48, I’ve lived in Santa Barbara, I’ve had a heart attack, my spell-check runs away screaming when it sees me coming, and I shall continue to stay the hell away from gyms in the future as vigorously as in the past.

The postings are as heartbreaking as the situation that drags us together, bleary-eyed and uncomprehending, waving lighters in the rain. Thanks.


Well into Autumn in this part of the world - image by my favorite pagan artist Jane Brideson
I love old post cards and this one has a message on the back from Herb to his sister Phylis - card is dated 1904

This is a birthday card that my friend Julie gave me.  It is from a series called ‘Meet the Mustards’ by Sam Toft.  It has a charming little story on the back about Ernest Hemmingway Mustard and his dear lady wife Violet and Doris (Her Majesty) their rather grumpy, portly Jack Russell.  Sam Toft has a website where you can see or buy her art work – here and here is a little video of her actually drawing one of her characters, and Doris of course.  She is very clever and I would luuuve one of her prints!!

Leave a Reply

