The Pants of a Clown..

I have been keeping it a little bit quiet, but I have been sewing myself a pair of wide leg trousers.

As you may recall from earlier posts, due to a childhood trauma (caused by my complete crapness at the art), sewing and I do not see eye to eye.  Since those days I have studiously avoided it whilst keeping an envious eye on those who knew how.

Anyhoo  – in the last few months the feeling has crept upon me that it might just be possible that my earlier crapness may have just been callow youthfulness and maybe, just maybe, I might not be quite so ham fisted as I thought.

Queue visit to material shop with Phillipa my birth mother (the adopted mother being far too impatient to teach me).  Cloth purchased, extremely simple pattern chosen, I made a shaky start and have, over the last couple of days, managed to put together a recognizable pair of pant.  The trouble is they are huge – really huge.  I could fit another person in with me without wrestling.   Queue gales of laughter as I tried them on..  (and no, you are not seeing a photo).

Still, better too large than too small huh?  And Phillipa is visiting me tomorrow so a little remedial tutorial may be the order of the day  😉

I will show you a photo when they are presentable.

Leave a Reply

