books, books, books…

I have been lucky lately with my choice of reading material.   Lucky in the sense that I have had three books that have been well worth reading.

I have been a manic reader ever since I could, inhaled books as if they were oxygen really – hated being trapped anywhere without something to read.  And I would pretty much read anything.  But then I went and got myself an education and that changed my reading habits totally – as one of the characters in the book I am reading at the moment said “Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad books”

For a long time after leaving university I found it difficult to find novels I enjoyed, it still is a problem  – but not at the moment.  Three books!

March: A Love Story in a Time of War by Geraldine Brooks – (not for the faint hearted), she tells the tale of Charles March the father of the girls in Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women. Thoroughly researched, beautifully written, fascinating, an absolute gem that I will read again.  This also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2006

Miss Garnet’s Angel by Sally Vickers – the story of a retired school mistress who , after the death of a long term companion, goes to live in Venice for six months.  I love stories about people who have sudden crises in life and go off and do the unexpected and this is one of them.  Woven in with Miss Garnet’s story is the apocryphal tale of Tobias and his journey which is also fascinating.  A book that I found hard to put down and really looked forward to going to bed at night to have a read.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer –  Half way through this I am enjoying immensely.  The title is cutesy but this belies the sometimes deeply sad nature of the book when it deals with the Nazi occupation of Guernsey. Despite that there are also some deeply funny bits as well and it feels well balanced.  Another book I am finding hard to put down and yet at the same time I want it to last forever!  The only thing I regret is that the author is dead and we will get no more of her wonderful writing.

Fave word of the day – Lucubration – mainly cos I think it sound rude 😉

2 thoughts on “books, books, books…

  1. katyboo1

    I loved the second two of your choices and the first is on my shelf waiting to be read. At the mo I’m drowning in academic books and a pile of stuff that needs reviewing asap. can’t wait for my hols so I can actually read nice things again. am v. jealous.xx

    1. watchthatcheese

      You are in for a treat – and I have just finished the last book, the potato peel one, and it was great. I am v jealous about your holiday and that wonderful place you are going to be staying in.

Leave a Reply

