To Old Friends..

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.”
~ Anais Nin

As promised the weather stayed clear for yesterday and the b.b.q went well.  Just nine of us, including the two youngsters who pretty much stayed in the lounge for the whole evening watching the unaccustomed treat of Sky t.v.  I had tried to keep the numbers low ( I can’t seem to help myself from inviting all and sundry to everything)  so that we could concentrate a bit more on our friends Alice and Lawrie and their girls who are moving away in a couple of weeks time.

Alice and I have known each other for thirty one years, since I was sixteen and she a year older.  We flatted together on and of  till I was twenty one and have stayed good friends every since.  Both of us divorced our first husbands in our early thirties nearly at the same time and then flatting together again briefly.  I have this fantasy that we will be able to live together again when we are  doddery – hopefully still listening to the same Lou Reed, Joni Mitchell and Bruce Springsteen music we knew in the olden days.

Alice to me, is a good, kind and also naughty person,  she like to laugh and laughs at my jokes (I’m a sucker for anyone who thinks I’m funny), and we have shared lots of our lives over the years.  Even topping and tailing in the same single bed for the first six months we lived together,  occasionally having some very odd conversations when she spoke to me and I didn’t realize that she was asleep.

One aspect regarding Alice that has always interested me is the way some people have reacted to her beauty and I mean her real physical beauty.  Watching men fall over themselves when she is around, fall in love with her when they don’t even know her.  Watching women dislike her, mistrust her, without knowing her.  It’s been an education that’s for sure.  Back when we were about eighteen and living together an acquaintance said to me at a party, ” It must be hard for you living with someone who is so gorgeous – do you think that she is your friend because you make her look more beautiful”?  What a hoot…

After everyone had gone last night, Mr T and I sat on by the brazier and watched the clear, moonless sky.  He had clocked four shooting stars and I three by the time we went inside.

She and I last night
All of us by the fire
Leave a Reply

