A New Year, A New Move..

Happy New Year to all of you out there! Hope you had a good start to it, I know that the eve itself can sometimes be a huge let down, that’s the problem with building things up and trying to enforce celebration, sometimes it can all turn to custard.  Not this time for me however. I had one of the best New Years Eve I have ever had.  I also had the photos to show you but I accidentally deleted them, hmm – there was much grumbling and groaning in the household this morning when I discovered that fact I can tell you.

Happy, good-hearted people, liberal quantity’s of alcohol, a damned good sound system, a huge outdoor fire and  balmy weather made the night a massive success.  It was also wonderful for me as I had the most extraordinary conversations with people, strange, delightful and hilarious, and mostly with people I had only met that night.  To top it all off we had a full blue moon which only comes around once every couple of years. According to Wikipedia the next blue moon will be in eighteen years time, when there will also be a total lunar eclipse   Hope I am around to see it – although I will be sixty-five and that will be more that enough to celebrate.

Many of my friends are initiating big changes in their lives this year. At last count there were ten of them who, either singularly or as couples, are moving overseas or to other parts of N.Z.  And adding to that total will be ourselves, heading back to the U.K. at the end of May to live and work and travel.  Where we will settle this time is still up in the air as it really depends on where Mr T can find a job (despite the recession there are still jobs for bus drivers), but at the beginning it will be back to good old Swansea and our bestest UK friends Julian and Kath -the added bonus of being there this year will be attending their wedding in September.

I owe this new opportunity to venture out into the world to my return to good health.  I now feel certain that with a bit of luck,  I will be able to work and help to fund lots of travelling.  And let’s face it – I am very lucky!

I am also HUGELY EXCITED about the move – BUT, am trying  hard to stay in the present and enjoy where I am now, in this beautiful country, with these beautiful people, and make the most of it.  My oldest friend and her family are leaving in just over a weeks time to live in Whangarei, which is right at the top of the North Island, about 12 hours drive away, and we are having them to our place for a b.b.q this Saturday night.  Although I will miss her a lot, I’m not really upset that she is going. The more I’ve travelled the more I have realised that the world is actually a small place and we will meet again – apparently they will be in the UK this December;-)

And I tell you what – I hope the British weather goblins  have saved some snow for next Yule – or there will be trouble!

Summer Solstice/Christmas presents

My best Solstice present was a ring made of a computer key – how about commenting and telling me what yours was?

Computer key ring
2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Move..

  1. Kathy

    YAY YAY YAY

    Am very excited that you are coming back to good old (freezing) Swansea. Many appologies for me not having left a message before now, as you know I is rubbish!!!

Leave a Reply

