Me and My Thyroid..

Pleasant day with my Mum today. Pretty quiet as well because the weather has packed up again and it was all cold and grey and wet. So mostly we sat around and talked and I worked on some crafty stuff and Mum read mags and watched her favourite soaps on t.v.

In the afternoon I had an appointment with the doctor so I left Ma to have a snooze and took myself off. I didn’t really want to go but I’m glad that I did now as I got to check the results of the thyroid test that I had about six weeks ago.

To my horror my TSH (Thyroid Stimulating Hormone) level had shot up from a very comfortable .3 at the beginning of the year to 18!!! –   it’s meant to be between about .3 – 5.  I had thought that something was up as I had been feeling not so hot lately.

This is not good and to be totally honest I am bloody upset about it.

I was first diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditus, which causes hypothyroidism, about 5 years ago. I had thought that I had finally got it sorted out but it’s flared up again.

What this means for me is that I’m feeling tired again, my body is achey and my brain is a bit slug like and I find it slightly harder to compose my blog. So bare with me it you don’t hear from me some days. I just need the extra medication to start working and I will be right as rain again.  🙂

thyroid

5 thoughts on “Me and My Thyroid..

  1. Kate

    Honey! Bad luck!! Hope the meds kick in quickly. How wonderful that you KNOW what it is and you KNOW that it will get better relatively quickly. Love and hugs and a big fat kiss. X Kratey

  2. katyboo1

    Gah.
    That’s not fair, as Oscar would say. Still, I am glad you are being positive about it. Good luck with the meds. I know it can be a bit tricky getting the dosage right.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

