I Love Treats..

One of the secrets of a happy life is continuous small treats: Iris Murdoch

Yet another spectacular holiday day, even got a little bit sunburnt. This is in preparation for tomorrow when the temperature will sink to the wee numbers and our nippy southerly wind caresses the nether regions once again. Still – it’s losing its power now and the sun is gaining, I have the pinkness to prove it. Plus we have had two barbecues in a row.

Highlights of today have been a perfect couple of hours spent making blowsy silk flower brooches with Vicky and then a lovely, sunny Carterton walk with her around to our friend Alison’s house. These Wairarapa towns really come into their own in the quiet sunshine, with lots of fine old houses and mature gardens, wide, wide streets and almost no traffic away from the main road.

Another highlight today was weeding around one of my rose bushes. Although it is still to early for the buds to be open, the fragrance was astonishing. It was certainly pay back for my efforts. For some reason I had thought the flowers had to be in bloom to release their scent – definitely wrong. I will be patient for a couple of days and then bring a few inside.

And then there is the small treat of watching a rerun of Parkinson – the incomparable Peter Kay, who I love so much and who makes me laugh in wonder at his cleverness. If you haven’t heard of him, take a look on Youtube. The second guest was Ian McKellan who is also a favourite.  I didn’t realise that the U.K. Stonewall – the lesbian, gay and bisexual charity was his baby.

All of our vege plants are in the ground now, so now I get the chance to recover. I have over stretched and my back, leg and arm muscles are telling me so. I am looking forward to bed.

Our own Stonehenge Aotearoa - in the hills above Carterton
Our own Stonehenge Aotearoa - in the hills above Carterton
Leave a Reply

