Passion, Fearlessness and Butter

I have been on an outing.

A friend rang and invited me out at the last minute. She had a spare ticket to Julie/Julia the movie, so I went. And it was good.

One of the reasons I started blogging was because of the book of the same name and so I have been waiting to see it. But being broke and fairly crap about making the effort to actually go out to the movies, I thought I would have to wait till it came out on DVD.

So I’m very glad I went. I like the way that movies drag you in even though you are sitting with a big bunch of complete strangers eating snacks in an enormous  room.

I remember Julia Child from T.V. when I was a kid, and I thought she was pretty odd then. As a grown up, I used to think that she was a bit pissed when she made the programmes.  But apparently she wasn’t. She was just being herself – enthusiastic, capable, down-to-earth, honest, just a little bit batty. Hugely likable.

For any who don’t know the book/movie:  Julia Child’s start in cooking is intertwined with blogger Julie Powell’s 2002 challenge to cook all the recipes in Julia Child’s first book over the course of a year. I have to say that Meryl Streep did a damn fine job of being Child- voice and all. And I came out desperately craving a butter cooked omelet and/ or boeuf bourguignon and or pan fried chicken breast in a cream sauce. Oh dear, so dribble dribble!

The sections that dealt with Julia Child’s story were set in the late 40/50’s and were so styley. I loved the clothes, the little hats, the Dior New Look dresses with huge swirly skirts and the colours that were fashionable at the time

I guess why I liked the story so much is because, in the end, two women who had been at loose ends, found their life’s purpose – one with cooking, the other with writing. And I guess I wish I could find the same thing – but then I figure I am in good company 😉

My friend Evonne found this wonderful video – thought you might enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Passion, Fearlessness and Butter

Leave a Reply

