Stuff and Nonsense

Today has been a bit yuck. I think it has something to do with the weather turning to crap, hormones and just generally the way of the world – one minute you’re up, the next down. Entirely natural of course and just something to put up with until the energy rises again.

I have given up on the scarf I had started knitting. I figured out that if I keep using the really thin needles I had I would take about five years to finish it. So this morning, before I went to the Information Centre to do my volunteering bit, I popped into the charity shop and purchased the largest pair of wooden needles I could find. Then this evening I unravelled the tiny, tight as a rats bum, knitted square and started again. Lovely, jubbley.

Spent the afternoon in my studio, listening to BBC Radio four – Women’s Hour and a doco about private, home life in the 16th and 17th century, which was rather bloody wonderful.  Got some necklaces made which I am hoping to list in my Etsy shop on Monday.

My friend Evonne has returned my copy of Backwards in High Heels; The Impossible Art of Being Female by Tania Kindersley and Sarah Vine. I bought it about six months ago and after reading half of it and enjoying it immensely (it is also a gorgeous looking book),  I got over excited about sharing it and took it to book club. Where it was promptly borrowed, of course.  Anyway – its very good to have it back and I am rereading.  The authors have a blog which I have also been enjoying. You can find the link in my blog roll.

Tude has been reading Carl Sagan’s  Contact and found this video which I’d like to share with you.

Leave a Reply

