Mad Women Fights Black Dog

“We who lived in concentration camps can remember the men who walked through the huts comforting others, giving away their last piece of bread. They may have been few in number, but they offer sufficient proof that everything can be taken away from a person but one thing: the last of the human freedoms – to choose one’s attitudes in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way” Victor Frankl,  Man’s Search for Meaning

Some years ago, I fell ill. A bit of a mystery illness, it was eventually described as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome or M.E.. I was ill enough to be unable to work and after a couple of years of trying to deal with a condition that seemed never ending  I , naturally enough, found myself back at the G.P.s being diagnosed, with clinical depression. The drugs prescribed worked briefly and then stopped and I gradually came to the conclusion that it was unlikely that any medication would help. So I started looking for something else – anything else, that would save me from myself. And that is when I came across Victor Frankl’s account of the time he spent in a concentration camp. The book gave me a huge amount of help, and still does, every time I read this quote I am reminded how strong I am, how strong we all are. And every time the Black Dog tries to drag me down – I choose to fight back.  😉

“We have come to know man as he really is. After all, man is that being who invented the gas chambers of Auschwitz; however, he is also that being who entered those gas chambers upright, with the Lord’s prayer or the Shema Yisrael on his lips.”    Man’s Search for Meaning

Last Night

Was cool. A good time was had by all at the Quiz Night, even though a question regarding which is the slowest finger nail to grow was answered by the thumb nail, causing quite a debate – the thumb not being a finger.  Anyway our team – The A Team, came third, Yay! (mainly due to Leanne’s ability to figure out riddles).  Both husbands on our team have full beards (the only ones at the Quiz) so we have decided that the next quiz night Leanne and I will don fake ones and call our team The Beardy Weirdys – good name huh?

Thinking about Victor Frankl today and came across this wonderful music video on You Tube. Hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

