Ah, The Start Of A New Week..

Cheese Hound Report

Titch is still ok – just ok though and not overly great yet. We will be keeping an eye on her for a while yet, but her illness may have turned out to be a really serious infection. And not something fatal. Yay!

The other little bugger Polly – has a death wish. She was followed home yesterday by a counsel worker who informed Mr T that Polly had been in the middle of the main road eating a dead rabbit. So it is back to being tied up again, whenever we have the outside door open. I had thought we might be able to start trusting her. HA!!

Other Stuff

Today could have been better if I wasn’t on day two of my hangover. Not that I seriously over indulged, but obviously indulged enough. It’s a bastard really, especially when my friend Sue can drink like a fish and be perfectly fine the next day. Many’s the morning when I’ve staggered out of my noisome pit (which is what any bed turns into when one has a real steamer going) and found her fresh as a daisy. It’s enough to make one spit dontcha know.

My hangover did not have anything to do with the home made cider by the way. Although it turned out to be yummy,  the alcohol level was certainly not anything near 10% yet. Will have to be patient and wait a while for that. In the meantime we will be brewing some more.

You can find the recipe for Speedy Cider here –

http://www.harvington.org.uk/hic/speedycider.html

Tip – After you have added the sugar and lemon, wait until you can no longer hear the mixture bubbling, at least a couple of days – we left it four. This is because when bottled it is very gassy and has a possibility of exploding. Ours has been stored out in the garage, just in case.

Saturday turned out to be a great for a brazier night. The gale force winds had dropped and we had a gorgeous day and evening, with a half moon riding high.  Ten of us sat around the fire and put the world to rights. Later in the evening I snaggled a bean bag armchair which turned out to be the perfect chair to sit by a brazier in, it kept my back and bum warm and was just the right height.

Topics discussed included

  • Tom Cruise and Peter Jackson spotted in Masterton (our biggest town), P.J. lives near here.
  • Scientology – the madness of it all
  • Pollution of our local rivers. (Oh yes, the myth of the clean green N.Z.)
  • Who is going to the Organic River Festival in Feb 2010 – me, hopefully!

Organic River Festival

I loved the Organic River Festival this year. After a rough start, in which, after telling every one I had NEARLY forgotten our tickets, Mr T and I arrived at the gates of the Festival (held in Levin, approx two hours away from our town) , to discover I HAD left them at home. The mocking was fairly merciless. Much fussing and fuming and negotiating with the official and we finally got in.   The lack of sleep on the first night camping just about put the kibosh on it for me as well, but I got over it, it’s amazing what six million coffees, a cooked breakfast and and the cheer of good friends can do.

I think the laid back, relaxed feel of the festival is the best aspect of it. It’s a very small gathering as festivals go and that helps – no hideously long queues for anything. Lots of like minded greenies gathered together, and the people watching is superb, with heaps of hippys and other alternative folk to peer at.

I also really love the food, great Hari Krishna vegetarian nosh as well as all the normal stuff with and organic bent. And the plum wine was superb.

On the last night the rain forced the organisers to close the main stage, so a few bands played in the large cook tent. Intimate that’s for sure, absolutely brilliant – I heard the best version of ‘Play That Funky Music’, possibly better than Wild Cherry’s original. Even more tickled when the band dedicated the song to the oldies amongst us, and I think they may have been including me.

Saturday night - early on
Saturday night - early on
Mike and Sue at WOMAD festival
Mike and Sue at WOMAD festival

I put this photo in because I missed out a picture of Mike in my last post – aren’t they a cool Aunty and Uncle to have?

2 thoughts on “Ah, The Start Of A New Week..

  1. Sue

    Greetings from the lush or cool aunty whatever!
    the exterior speakers worked a treat eh? made a big difference to the quality of the outdoor sound without disturbing the neighbours.

    lets do it again sometime!

Leave a Reply

