Well Done That Ape!

I am a huge fan of Terry Pratchett, can’t begin to say how much enjoyment his books have given me over the years. One of the things that I love about him is that he has written so many books that it is now possible for me to start reading them from the beginning again, because I can no longer remember what happened in them. I had the great honour of meeting him when I lived in Dunedin and he was doing a book tour – got my books signed, so cool!

I love his witch characters – Nanny Ogg, Granny Weatherwax and Magrat Garlick. And I love the Bursar and his Dried Frog Pills, Ridcully the Arch Chancellor and the Librarian.  And let’s not forget Bloody Stupid Johnston and Cut Me Own Throat Dibbler – or Throat for short. I particularly like the Tiffany Aching books – Pratchett books have lots of good, strong females in them.

I receive an email called Discworld Monthly which is filled with all sorts of news about plays being staged, conventions and book signings. This month I found this wonderful letter which says many of the things I feel about Terry Pratchetts books. And she’s the same age as me, Ook!

At the age of 46, I have learned some things about myself.  I
learned a lot of it in Alcoholics Anonymous and from self-help
books.  Too bad I had not discovered Terry Pratchett when I first
decided to figure out who I am.  He has taught me more about myself
than any self-help book ever could.  The lessons Terry Pratchett
teaches have opened my eyes, and opened my eyes again.  To know
myself, I had to simply accept myself.  There is no mystery; I
simply am me and that is nothing to be afraid of.  He tells us, over
and over again, to stand watch on the edge, to speak for those who
have no voice, to never treat people as things or put things ahead
of people.  What better philosophy is there to live by?  If I could
have the courage of Sam Vimes, the absolute certainty of Granny
Weatherwax, and the joy of Nanny Ogg…  Sir Terry has given me
laughter, tears, and a heartfelt desire to become a better person.
I could never fully express my gratitude to the universe for giving
this world someone as magnificent as Sir Terry Pratchett, so I’ll
simply say Thank You.  Selena Harrell

The Librarian (don't, for fecks sake, call him a monkey)
The Librarian (whatever you do don't call him a monkey), and yes, that is mistletoe he is holding.

My favourite Discworld book of all would have to be Monstrous Regiment – what’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Well Done That Ape!

  1. katyboo1

    Mine is A Hat Full of Sky, although I am also particularly fond of Thief of Time. Awesome stuff. There is a whole thread of conversation on the OU website devoted entirely to Terry. It’s quite amazing.

Leave a Reply

