46 MILLION

It’s funny what reading does to you. For most of my life I thought of the southern United States as a place full of red necks and racists, the last part of that country I would want to visit. Bollocks of course – product of an imagination fed by Hollywood and sheer mental laziness.  And then I read the complete works of Fanny Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.  Now Missouri would probably be the first stop on my itinerary. In fact, one of the reasons that I wanted to live in this house is because it reminded me of Neighbor Dorothy’s house in Welcome to the World, Baby Girl.

Flagg’s books do not shrink from the darker side of life however, they would be way to sweet for me otherwise.  And that brings me to the main subject of my post today. America is the richest country in the world – you would think that it would be able to look after its own people wouldn’t you?  Well I guess they could – if they wanted to.   Obama and Co are facing an up hill battle in their attempt to bring in universal health care so that the 46 MILLION UNINSURED PEOPLE can get their health needs met. Sorry about the capitals but..46 MILLION!! Bloody Hell!!

My favourite American blogger – Heather B Armstrong  (Dooce) has strong feelings on this subject as her family has had health insurance problems. And I’m with her husband Jon who commented on his blog –

Here’s the freedom and peace of mind I think every person deserves: if one is sick or has a health-related problem, one finds the nearest or most favorite physician and makes an appointment or walks in and gets help. Every person alive deserves this. That we don’t live this way is hypocritical and inexcusable. We have the technology.

The Guardian has an article by Ed Pilkington titled ‘Dying for affordable health care – the uninsured speak’ , it’s an interesting read if you’ve got a moment.  I’m just going to sit back and be thankful that I live here. 😉

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2009/aug/21/healthcare-provision-us-uk

Leave a Reply

