Oh My, I Love Soup..

I was feeling a little low today – nothing in particular had happened, its just that I have been hit by a hay fever allergy again and had been forced to take a tablet to try and stop the insane amount of sneezing I was doing.The pills make me feel a bit crappy and sometimes don’t work very well, while the allergy makes me feel like I have a cold, contributing  to my mood. Solution? It’s obvious really isn’t it?  MAKE SOUP!

One of the best things I have found about getting older is that I have actually got better at some things, and soup is one of them…

  • Making soup can be a meditation. Just the cutting, slicing, dicing, grating of veges, being in the moment, takes my mind of whatever is bothering me.
  • The smell of the onions and garlic frying up together,  mmmmmmmmmm. (I have taken to giving all the chopped veges a quick fry up with them)
  • Its really creative, you can put pretty much anything in that you want. And therefore it always tastes different.
  • Its a real frugal hit, using up all the older veges.
  • Its great when your broke, so cheap to make, and smells and tastes wonderful. Filling you up for low cost.
  • All those soupy, vege ingredients are really bloody good for you! Today’s soup, which I am eating while I am writing this, has cooked brown rice added.
  • If your feeling a little richer, you can make a French onion soup  with a bottle of wine added. OH YES…
Picture 043
Today's Soup

“Do you have a kinder, more adaptable friend in the food world than soup? Who soothes you when you are ill? Who refuses to leave you when you are impoverished and stretches its resources to give a hearty sustenance and cheer? Who warms you in the winter and cools you in the summer? Yet who also is capable of doing honor to your richest table and impressing your most demanding guests? Soup does its loyal best, no matter what undignified conditions are imposed upon it. You don’t catch steak hanging around when you’re poor and sick, do you?” Judith Martin



2 thoughts on “Oh My, I Love Soup..

    1. watchthatcheese

      Oh yeah! Sudden sharp stab of homesickness – we will have to go again some day – It will be even better after the first time, we’ll know our way around a bit more.

Leave a Reply

