Stop Crying Or I’ll Smack You

Should a smack, as part of good parental correction be a criminal offence in New Zealand?

This is the referendum question New Zealanders have been asked to answer. I prefer the following, taken from the Dominion newspaper letters section…

Should physical assault, as part of poor parental practice, be illegal in New Zealand?

The title of this post is one of my favourite quotes from back in the dark ages when I was a child. A strap, wooden spoon, coat hangers, these were the weapons of choice and my brother and I  thought ourselves lucky compared to the kids across the road who got hit with bits of wood and would go to school with huge welts.

And it was all perfectly legal – you owned your children and had, pretty much, the right to do with them what you wanted. So for me, it was celebration time when I heard that it had been made a criminal offence to smack your kids. People might actually have to restrain themselves when it came to beating our smallest, and most vulnerable, citizens. Although I’m not going to hold my breath…

Some New Zealanders have not quite got their heads around the new rules  – the referendum to change the law back has huge support. Fortunately the Government has said it will ignore the outcome whatever it is. Fucking A..

Leave a Reply

